A Lovely Day of Geocaching & Sightseeing in Prague

Leave a comment Standard
Image

Prague Main Station – View from the first Geocache we found during our Prague-Trip

Geocaching usually is big fun everywhere I go, but it’s always the most beautiful when you share the geocaching-fun with people you love most… It becomes even more special when you’re able to go geocaching in a place that you just came to know a few months ago, but that already feels like home… That’s exactly how I feel about the Czech Republic… I’ve only been to a few places in CZ (Karlovy Vary, Sokolov, Habartov, Mariánské Lázně, Loket, Františkovy Lázně & Praha) and I’m still a beginner when it comes to speaking Czech, I just love this country and its people… 🙂

Image

The Czech National Museum – Národní Muzeum

I had about 486 geocaches found before we started our hunt in Prague – our aim for my CZ-holidays this time was to make my next milestone of 500 found geocaches a Czech one, one that reminds me of a wonderful excursion. In front of the National Museum, we had our first little deception… somewhere in the sculpture near the fountain we had our first “Did Not Find” of the day… But there was some kind of event at the National Museum, the place was very busy and full of security guards, so we decided to leave the place and find some other geocaches.

Image

Ss. Cyril and Methodius Cathedral – Pravoslavný chrám svatých Cyrila a Metoděje

On the walk to one of our caches, we came accross the “Ss. Cyril and Methodius Cathedral”, and V. told me about its historical background… I love strolling through cities and learning about its history from friends who live there…

In 1942, during World War II, the cathedral was the scene of the last stand of a number of Czech and Slovak patriots who, in Operation Anthropoid, had assassinated Reinhard Heydrich, the Nazi SS Obergruppenführer and General of Police. Karl Fischer von Treuenfeld was in command of the troops that stormed the church on 18 June 1942. After a fierce gun battle, they committed suicide to avoid capture. Presently there is a museum in the church crypt dedicated to them as national heroes. (source: wikipedia.org)

As a student back in school, I wasn’t into history and politics at all, but when you get it first or maybe second hand from people who “experienced history” right at the scene, it’s a whole different story. 🙂

Image

V. descending to the river Vltava in order to get me another cache 😀

After a grey, windy and very misty morning, the weather became more and more friendly around midday. I was quite pleased to see the sun again, the grey weather wasn’t really motivating me until now… And I longed to enjoy the view on the Charles Bridge etc., as it was so misty last time that I could hardly see whats 2 meters ahead… 🙂

Image

Love Padlocks on a small pedestrian bridge over a sidearm of the Vltava – so romantic!

DNF’s aren’t always just time wasted, as we walked past those lovelocks on a pedestrian bridge on our way to another cache… I love these – I hope, one day, I’ll hang a lock on there, too… *dreamy*

Image

View from somewhere under the Charles Bridge…

After we found a few more caches, we decided to go for a hot chocolate – chocolate helps against everything, even headaches, I think… 😀 Although the restaurant had written horká čokoláda (hot chocolate) on its menu, I didn’t get one as they ran out of chocolate… hard luck… 😉 But I’m not complicated, so I simply ordered a schnitzel with some fries instead, which kinda irritated the waiter (he might have expected a tea or coffee, haha) but tasted delicious in the end… 😀

Image

View on the Charles Bridge from Mánesův most

We enjoyed walking through the city as the sun was going down on Prague and found some more caches, so we finally made it to 499. We decided that we want to make my 500th geocache an Earthcache of a place where I already went at my first trip to CZ: The Fountain-Earthcache in Karlovy Vary. 🙂 So we just strolled around and took some more pictures before I had to leave for Switzerland again… I don’t know when I will be able to return to CZ, but I hope it’s going to be soon… I feel kinda homesick already… :-/

Image

The Church of Mother of God in front of Týn – Kostel Matky Boží před Týnem; Old Town Square

 

My finds in Prague…:

GCP7YK – Praha – Hlavni nadrazi / Prague – The Main Station
GCW43N – Narodni muzeum 1891
GC4FB4A – Novomestsky pivovar
GC1GC4H – Prazske legendy – O Lokytkovi
GC33DJ3 – Prazske legendy – O stribrne rybe
GC38GN3 – Prazske legendy – O studance Pucka
GC1JXDP – Prague bridges 13 – Most na Slovansky ostrov
GC1B418 – Rotunda sv. Krize Mensiho
GC1GQ2T – Prazske legendy – O zkamenelem ulicnikovi
GC1TTFZ – Nejuzsi ulicka v Praze / Prague narrowest street
GC1EMMK – Prague bridges 9 – Manesuv most
GC14WV8 – Terezka
GC4G78X – Otýlie (Norsk, English) – Brhel #14

… on the map:

Image

My finds in Prague on the Geocaching-Map

Leave a Reply

