Morocco-Trip 2014 – Day 2

Comments 3 Standard
Image

My cousin enjoying the scenery on the atlantic coast somewhere between Essaouira and Taghazout.

On our second day in Morocco, we had a lovely breakfast at “Riad Chakir Mogador” and then drove along the atlantic coast towards Taghazout, where we wanted to meet friends of my cousin. The scenery along the coast was just impressively beautiful… I could have stop and stared every 100 meters… 😀 Luckily I wasn’t the driver, otherwise we would still be down there 😀

Image

Just me in front of the huge waves of the Atlantic Ocean…

After having found my cousin’s friends “Silä” and “Üse”, we left our luggage in their caravan, as we weren’t sure whether we wanted to stay on the camping for the night or proceed to Agadir and find a hotel there… Then we all boarded our car and drove down the hill towards the beautiful beach… After having marveled at numerous surfers, we decided to do some rather touristic stuff… 😀

Image

First time ever: Camel Riding with my cousins wife, whereas he himself preferred stay a bit lower, namely on a horse 😀

Image

The Camel’s name was Hasan, the “guide” was called Mustafa. I guess these are the most common names in Morocco, as it seemed to me, that almost everyone was called Hasan, Mustafa or Murat… 🙂

It was fun, even if we just rode for a few hundred meters forth and back on the beach and not a trip into the Atlas or even the desert, haha 😀

Image

Me and “Salam”. 🙂

After having seen the horse-riding-skills of my cousin, I had to prove that not all Swiss people are such bad horsemen as he was – he somehow sat on that horse like a sac of potatoes… no moving along with the horse’s movement… 😀 But I managed to restore our good reputation, at least according to Murat, the owner of the horse… 😛

Image

Sunset over the Atlantic Ocean… *_*

After we had a Snack at a tiny little restaurant in the middle of several surfer-shops and booths, we went back to the campground “Terre D’Ocean” and decided to stay in a kind of ridge tent for the night. We stored our luggage and then went back to our friend’s caravan for a glass of wine and orange juice. My cousin and I went for orange juice because we wanted to do a little sunset-quad-tour together on our friend’s quad.

Image

Sunset over the Atlantic Ocean (view from our friend’s caravan)

It was the first time for me to sit on a squat – my cousin is really into motorbikes and quads etc., and we did an awesome tour to Italy last year in spring on his Triumph Tiger T400 –  which was quite awesome – but this is still a very different feeling, as we were driving rather on a path than on a real street with our quad…  The scenery was super-awesome – but I was too busy holding on to my cousin and quite afraid of falling of the seat because of the bumpy trail we drove along, so I couldn’t take any pictures… 😦

Image

Our Campsite during sunset…

After the Quad-ride we went to a lovely restaurant down the camping hill, in the village. It’s called “Cafe Restaurant West Coast”. The service was really friendly and awesome, and the food was delicious! 🙂 We had Tagine with veggies and also chicken, and the couscous was tasty, too. 🙂

Image

Our ridge tent on the campground “Terre d’Ocean”.

Then we went to sleep in our ridge tent. As you can see, there are little holes above the entrance door – the night was freezing cold, even inside… But well, the sound of the waves and the wind of the Atlantic Ocean compensated for the cold night in my sleeping bag.

Tomorrow we’ll drive towards Agadir and try to get on the Atlas… I’m very excited to tell you everything about it… 🙂

3 thoughts on “Morocco-Trip 2014 – Day 2

Leave a Reply

